Arduino Holiday Star

This year at work there was a contest to make the best ornament for the Christmas tree.  We, the IT Department, almost never participate in these activities.  Well, this year we did.  At work I was shown a star cut from a computer motherboard by Robert.  Amanda asked, “Hey, can you put lights on this?”  I said “Yes, I can use an Arduino”.  I took the star home to made a prototype.

WP_20131126_002

The prototype took a couple hours to cobble together and program.  The program makes the lights dim, get brighter and blink using an Arduino UNO some LEDs and resisters. I brought this back to work and everyone liked it.  A few more holes were drilled and given back to me with a CPU glued into the socket.

Below it he back of the ornament I ended up with…

image

The finished ornament!  There was no hole for the LED on the leg with the power plug, so I brought the LED around to the front of the star.

image

My workstation on the kitchen table with a $5 soldering iron.

WP_20131204_006

The ornament did not win the contest at work. 

One response to “Arduino Holiday Star

Leave a comment